The First Steak

This post has been a long time coming. I “came out” as a meat-eater a few years ago, and still have yet to cook my first steak. I’ve enjoyed eating steak out many a time, but have shyed away from cooking my own, always a bit embarrassed by my lack of knowledge in this area. But whilst wandering through Torvehallerne – an amazing food hall in Copenhagen – on a whim I decided to buy steak and cook it. And there is no better place than Torvehallerne to buy top quality local meat, for the very momentous first steak I would ever cook in my life.

So I embraced my lack of experience and walked brazenly up to one of the butcher stands, and said, “I have never in my life cooked a steak and I want to cook one. Can you help me?” And of course the lovely man could. He went through every piece of meat they had for sale, and explained in detail how exactly I should cook it to make the best steak ever. Tusind tak to you, lovely man!

DSC_0010A few steak tips from Cleaver’s man:

Heat pan high then add a tiny bit of oil (no oil needed really if it is a non-stick pan). Once you can feel and see it’s blazing hot, put steak in pan. When moisture comes up from middle of steak, then turn the steak over. When moisture comes up from the middle this time, the steak (medium rare ish) is ready. Put on a wire rack for the juices to settle. A knob of butter on the steak now. Then do your stuff with the herbs and any extras!

For the rest I drew inspiration from two places.

1. My favourite foodie resource online, Bon appétit, and this recipe in particular, is the one I used for my salsa verde.

2. Then Tango Grill in Torvehallerne, see this picture. I absolutely love how they do their steak, with the focus on excellent meat, but a few quality accompaniments. No potatoes, or chips which I like – I always feel like this is too much food, and takes away from the enjoyment of the steak. So I baked some baguette with a drizzle of oil, and roasted some assorted tomatoes, and chucked all that on too.

First up, the making of the salsa verde. I chose tarragon, mint and parsley.DSC_0017 Good tools mean good food. My favourite two pieces of metal right here:DSC_0011 DSC_0020 DSC_0022 The lovely Cleaver’s man also marinated my steak with rosemary, peppercorns, lemon juice and garlic!DSC_0025 DSC_0027DSC_0032 DSC_0043 DSC_0044 DSC_0045 DSC_0046 DSC_0058DSC_0069

It was amazing. We had red wine too, of course. Many more beaut’ steak to come from me. Who wants one?!

Leave a Reply

