Whole baked cauliflower with thai courgette dip

When you have a strange mix of leftovers, and attempt to use them all up in one meal, the result of which often turns out to be far more interesting and different than the usual staples!

So I took inspiration from two people for this random assorted leftover meal. Firstly, Paul Robinson (aka @yorkshiregourmet) for the whole baked cauliflower. I stirred up a little paste, of basically what I could find in the cupboards. Mine included a varying and completely random amount of the following: coriander, crushed garlic, paprika, cayenne pepper, tahini, olive oil, thyme, herbs de provence, sea salt, black pepper, black mustard pepper, nutmeg, and more olive oil.

Smothered that all over my cauliflower and baked it at about 160°C for 1 hour and 30 minutes. (But if it’s a smaller cauliflower you can probably get away with just one hour).

DSC_0077 DSC_0102

I actually chopped off most of the leaves, but when I do this again I will keep them, they roast really nice and chewy and (contrary to popular belief) you can eat them!

The other part of my meal then, inspired by Danielle Copperman (@dcopperman), was a raw courgette, cashew nut, thai dip thingy. In my blender I put chopped up courgette (with the skin still on), some thai curry paste and coconut cream (also conveniently had hanging about as leftovers), green chilli, mint, soaked cashew nuts, olive oil, lime juice, lime zest, turmeric, cumin, coriander, mustard pepper, garlic cloves, soy sauce, rocket and plenty of salt.

I actually ate this cold for this meal, but later on to use up the leftover thai dip, I heated it with some veg as a curry sauce and it worked perfectly!

DSC_0098 DSC_0089 DSC_0084

And it was even better the second night…

DSC_0005

Leave a Reply

