Apple & Blackcurrant Mince Pies

My first time making mince pies, because it’s only this year that I’ve begun to appreciate that they can be nice.

I didn’t have much time, so I opted for a super simple recipe, “Unbelievably easy mince pies”.

The pastry was a bit weird, and I added egg yolk and lemon juice to mine to make sure it wasn’t super crumbly. In hindsight, I would have just used my failsafe pastry recipe that I use for apple pies and jam tarts. But hey. I didn’t have time to make my own mincemeat, so got some in a jar from M&S, then added blackcurrants and apples (‘cause they is nice), I also sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on some of them, which was yum. I found that the recipe made a lot more than the promised 18 and I used way more filling than they list on the ingredients. Though they were delicious, I had a lot of problems getting them out of the cake tins, the syrup slipped down the side and perhaps I didn’t grease the tin enough, but next time, I would use cupcake cases, just for cooking at least, to avoid each pie falling to bits in my attempts to remove them from the tin.

So, not perfecto, and plenty of room for improvement (next year) but tasty none the less, and I would REALLY recommend adding seasonal fruit, especially the blackcurrants!

DSC_0002DSC_0003DSC_0005DSC_0008DSC_0013DSC_0016DSC_0018DSC_0020DSC_0027DSC_0030DSC_0032DSC_0042DSC_0047DSC_0048DSC_0058

Leave a Reply

